A Dog’s Top 10 Requests For Their Owner

1.  My life is likely to last 10-15 years, or even less.  Any separation from you is likely to be painful.  Spend time with me, let me go on walks with you, lets go explore the yard or the neighborhood, play ball or tug, defuzz a tennis ball or pull the stuffing out of a toy.  Let’s just spend time together.  Let’s sit and watch a sunset, the stars, the moon, or the leaves falling.  Let’s just spend time together.

2.  Give me time to understand what you want of me.  Don’t be fast to think I am disobeying, being defiant, stubborn, or not listening.  Those are human characteristics not canine.  Sometimes you may not have communicated with me clearly.  Don’t just tell me what to NOT do, tell me what to do and when I do it good!

3.  Place your trust in me.  Earn mine.  It is crucial for my well-being.

4.  Don’t be angry with me and don’t lock me up as punishment.  You have your work, your friends, your entertainment, but I have only you.  Being patient with me will help you to handle the world better.  Being quick to judge and anger never will get you far with humans.  It will only bring me stress, fear, and unhappiness.  Let me teach you how to see the world with kindness, adventure, curiosity, and forgiveness.
5.  Talk to me.  Even if I don’t understand all your words, I do understand your voice when speaking to me.  Our bond will always be one without a need for words if you treat me with kindness, and give me reasons to trust you.  Make a request of me with a kind voice and I will be happy to comply.

6.  Be aware that however you treat me, I will never forget it.  Hitting me once will make me weary of your hands and other’s.  Popping me on the nose is hitting.  Using your hands against me is punishment.  Hitting is punishment.  It causes fear of when it may happen again – every minute I am with you.  I learn more with kindness, respond quicker and more often with trust in my handler.  Be kind.

7.  Would you take someone harming you without defending yourself?
Before you hit me, before you strike me, remember that I could hurt you, and yet, I choose not to bite you.

8.  Before you scold me for being lazy or uncooperative, ask yourself if something might be bothering me.  Perhaps I’m not getting the right food, I have been in the sun too long, or my heart might be getting old or weak.  I need complete veterinarian care, not just shots.  I need good food, not just any food.  I need shelter, not just a pen or fence.  I need a home, not just a dog house.  I need to be with you and not on a chain.

9.  Please take care of me when I grow old.  You too, will grow old.  Those are the days when I will most desire your touch, to hear your voice, to know you are near.  Let me spend my last years, happy, with you and stress free as possible.  Don’t think that because I’m older that I don’t still enjoy learning new things, going on new adventures, and enjoy doing things we used to do.  I just may do them slower, or not as long, or I might just surprise you!

10.  On the ultimate difficult journey, go with me please.  Never say you can’t bear to watch.  Don’t make me face this alone. Everything is easier for me if you are there, because I love you.

Till later…woofs!

Leave a Reply

