Don’t Let the Big Dogs Fool You!

There’s been so much talk in the media about “bad” breeds of dogs. We all know that there really are no bad breeds, just “bad” owners. I grew up being terrified of German Shephards – not because they’re horrible dogs but because everyone around me (I lived in a very secluded rural setting) trained their dogs to be guard dogs and then let them run free on their properties. This made my daily bike ride to town to deliver the morning papers quite an adventure indeed as I tried to pedal faster than the dog could run.

Interestingly enough, the most vicious dog that I’ve ever encountered in my life was a very small, adorable Lhasa Apso named Tuffy (a very good name). Tuffy was my childhood dog. I can assure you that he was showered with love and attention. These funny looking little dogs were bred to protect the Tibetan monks and they tend to bond with one person.

That person for Tuffy was my father. When my father arrived home from work Tuffy would run through the living room and family room bouncing off of all the sofas. He’d make this circuit three or four times and then throw himself at my dad. He had some other strange proclivities though – he loved women’s underwear. In the morning my mom and I would find our “unmentionables” strewn through the hallway (slightly damp). I can’t begin to tell you how distressing this was to a 10 year old!

Tuffy had no concept of his size and limitations. He actually ate 9 of our chickens (including our prized Rooster) and he tried to attack a horse. You should have seen the look of shock on my friend’s face (pretty neat to have a friend just drop by on horseback – admittedly she only did it once). We had another dog as well. He was the most beautiful, docile Collie named Prince. Prince had broken his leg as a puppy and Tuffy would nip at the sore spot and start fights with the Collie. We, as a family, were terrified of the Collie becoming an aggressive dog and made the heart-wrenching decision to find new homes for the dogs.

That’s what parents always tell kids, isn’t it? They’ve gone to a nice farm in the country. God, I hope they didn’t pull that trick on me. I can’t see it happening. My dad was so soft hearted. We briefly raised chickens (which he called his “girls” – we even named our rooster Buddy). My dad decided that if he was going to make a go of it he was going to have to slaughter a few and put them in the freezer for the winter. As he plucked the feathers from his “girls” he cried like a baby, gathered up all the carcasses and feathers and drove them to the dump and we never spoke of it again.

2 Responses

  1. This is so true. The part about how there are only bad owners, not bad dogs. I agree 100%. If you raise a dog to be mean, he will be mean. If you raise a dog, ANY dog, with love, care, concern and warmth, the dog will be nice. There is a pit bull in my family who is a big old sweetheart and loves to cuddle with and play with the cats!

  2. Jaime,
    Thanks so much for stopping by our site I hope you found what you were looking for or maybe ‘just a good read’. My friend Susan actually wrote that post for me (she is the artist behind all the paintings on my sites) But I had to reply to you myself because I have a pitbull who’s best friend is a Tea-cup chi, she also plays with our two hamsters!! That is a site to see when you see a pitbull (vicious beast) nose to nose with a hamster!!
    I hope you come back and see us…and look for our new site coming soon at http://www.fidos-place.com
    Michele AKA Clasidog

Leave a Reply

